I haven’t blogged much recently.  After finishing a major piece of writing – crime fiction –  and returning to work, I needed a break of sorts.  I’ve been polishing my piano repertoire with Mozart, Chopin and Liszt, and practising my four languages.

I’ve also found time to deepen my interest in breathing.  I first became curious during a stint of CBT, during which the practitioner gave me a book and CD that included various exercises.  At the time, I was still smoking – quite heavily, in fact – and I had a high rate of breaths per minutes, roughly 16/17.

Four years on, my breathing rate has dropped to 10 or 11, and I feel much calmer.  Quitting smoking played a crucial role in this, but so has abdominal breathing.

I don’t feel qualified to make suggestions about which breathing exercises people should attempt – but clearly simple breathing techniques done in a relaxed manner should benefit most people.  Obviously, anyone with a medical condition should check first, but generally there’s something for everyone.

Just a few of my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

