I’m working on a new novel, Silent, a psychological thriller for Young Adults.  In the story, central character Gavin (17) has drifted into trouble in his native South London and his parents have sent him to some special Summer Event held a few miles from a coastal town in the north of the country.  He dislikes the town immediately:

 

I arrived for the classes at the beginning of August, having spent hours jumping on and off buses, tubes and trains. My shoulders and neck were stiff and sore from lugging two heavy bags around, and I wasn’t in the best of the moods. Take the town, for instance. Strong smell. Muggy, sticky weather. Grey: sand, skies, metal monstrosity holding up the pier. Seagulls. Pigeons. Squawking rats with wings. Aggressive creatures, apparently. Great.

 

But it wasn’t just the surroundings. As soon as I stepped off the bus, I got a chilling sense that I’d visited the town before, even though I knew I couldn’t have done.  Everything seemed familiar. Each turning I took. The buildings.  The layout of the town centre. Tourist Information. The shops and cafés and guesthouses. The pier.  Yeah, I’d experienced this sort of thing a lot in the past, and it had always freaked me out. 

Meanwhile, my debut novel Secrets by Lawrence Estrey is available from Amazon in paperback and e-book. 

Check out the reviews for  Secrets.

Newspaper article on author.

Local musician publishes crime thriller

EggHead by Lawrence Estrey: Questions And Answers

 

 

Leave a Reply

