A din starts up nearby. Shouting, rushing footsteps, people treading in shards of pint glass. Men and women. A mixture of North Yorkshire, Manchester and Geordie accents.

He went that way. 

No, that’s the way.  

Hail rains down on me, sharp and stinging, and a gust charges at me, nearly throwing me off balance. I spot a tiny opening in the wall and hurry towards it, panting for breath, nearly sliding on a stretch of ice hidden from sight. The freezing sea air digs deep into my lungs, sucking my energy away, and my soaked-through clothes sap me of strength, but I must get away from the men or face a lynching far worse than the one they promised then.

 

Meanwhile, my first novel – Secrets by Lawrence Estrey – is available from Amazon (paperback, e-book).   Genre: psychological thriller.   

Sample Chapters

Newspaper article on author.

Local musician publishes crime thriller

 

 

Leave a Reply

