Finally completed EggHead and am in the process of considering what steps to take to get it published.  In EggHead, the fourteen-year-old protagonist has to leave home and go into care when his attempts to deal with bullying backfire.  Now aged seventeen, he is struggling to rebuild his life in a remote village off the North Sea.

After lunch, Uncle Graham drives me to the nearest large town, puts some cash in my bank account and picks up a few cleaning items from a ninety-nine pence shop. On the way back to the car, he spots a store selling suits and insists on getting me one.  I choose a grey one and check it out in the changing rooms.  The transformation surprises me.  When I looked in the mirror, I was expecting to see an exhausted individual with stooped shoulders and a defeated expression in their eyes – a sort of tired of running expression – but instead I see a youthful face staring back at me.  Egg shaped head, soulful blue eyes, Labrador blond hair.  When I was at school in Manchester, my mates used to call me Egghead.  

Meanwhile, my first novel – Secrets by Lawrence Estrey – is available from Amazon (paperback, e-book).   Genre: psychological thriller

3 thoughts on “Short Writing Sample/Second Novel

Leave a Reply

