I downloaded the photo editing software GIMP a couple of evenings ago and am getting used to it after a frustrating start.  The software’s open source and doesn’t cost a thing.  Personally, I think it has some powerful features, in particularly those to do with manipulating colour. 

Originally, I took the photo below in automatic mode last year (although I never use automatic now).   Using GIMP, I went into Color Channels and selected Monochrome.   With the first photo, I brought the black and white image, chose colorize and altered the hue and saturation.

Queen’s Wood, North London

Queen's Wood, North London

Queen's Wood, North London
3 thoughts on “Finding My Way Around GIMP

  1. Like the pictures, it used to be called sepia which went out with the arc but nevertheless it brings a lovely warmth to the scene in contrast. The second picture is decidedly cold and uninspiring.

Leave a Reply

