The struggle with writer’s block has paid off and I’ve now reached sixty thousand words of my novel, a psychological thriller set in the north of England. Central character Alan is  investigating something that happened nine years ago, an event he doesn’t fully remember…

 I continue on at the railway bridge, across the t-junction and down a hilly tree-lined road, scanning the buildings and the side avenues in the hope of answers. Brief flashes come to mind, but none exact, only that I drove down this hilly road in the rain in search of a hoover store for an important meeting that I’d arranged back in London. I felt flat as I drove that other time, the aftertaste of tea from Kaz Bradshaw’s cafe fresh in my mouth. The days when I still added milk to hot drinks. I drove past an RC church with a crucifix. The church is still there, about two-thirds of the way down the leafy road. Nothing against church buildings, but this is freaky.

I reach the bottom of the hill and another set of lights and a familiar tower-like building that reminds me of bells and the rhyme about the oranges and lemons. Row of shops, gastronomical pub, garage, an island with pylon wires overhead. Then, I see it on the other side of the island.

7 thoughts on “The Novel: More Than Two-Thirds Of The Way Through

  1. I like the idea of the taste of tea still in his mouth followed by the recollection of how he used to take his beverages. Very Proustian.
    This line: “Row of shops, gastronomical pub, garage, an island with pylon wires overhead.” Almost like seeing things as they pass by while driving, the images fragmented at best.
    The one word–“freaky”–however is too inexact and takes away from the mood created by the stunning imagery.
    Overall, an impressive mood-building scene.

  2. Hi – this is Chloe from “Writing Days-Happy Days” with my new blog. Please visit “Blossom Dreams” if you can – possibly even subscribe 😉

    If I’m on your Blogroll, please can you change your link from Writing Days to Blossom Dreams?

    Many thanks and have a great day!!

    Chloe xx

Leave a Reply

