From as far back as I can remember, I’ve always had an interest in the mind – in particular, whether humans have the capacity to experience life beyond the established physical senses.  Due to various reasons, I myself don’t practice techniques intended to develop ESP, but I have a keen interest in the subject from a scientific viewpoint.  I also believe that people are capable of experiencing life beyond the five senses and that neuroscience adequately explains the processes involved but not always the deeper reasons for the experiences. 

Diane Hennacy Powell’s book The ESP Enigma is perhaps one of the best books I’ve read on the subject.  The author has an impressive training in medicine, neurology and psychiatry at institutions on both sides of the Atlantic, and has published many articles in leading scientific journals.  Her style of writing is easy to follow.

Powell provides considerable information on the brain, as well as physics and quantum physics. In the earlier part of the book, she describes in detail various forms of ESP, providing examples of both anecdotal evidence and research carried out under scientific conditions. Without giving too much away, I have to say that many of the examples in the book were considerably impressive and definitely worthy of further investigation. 

While reading the book, I could easily envisage some of the people and subjects mentioned, and I found the material extremely refreshing and informative.  I would certainly recommend the book.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The ESP Enigma by Diane Hennacy Powell

Leave a Reply

