Well, the inevitable happened on Sunday afternoon…the computer has been playing up for some time. I was copying a section of writing to StoryBook (a free novel planning software package) when my computer suddenly “blacked out” for the second time in a day.  And when I got the computer started again, the story file would no longer open.  It was finished. I had to make a fresh copy of my work from a USB memory stick. 

Further computer “blackouts” occurred that day, creating computer chaos. I’ve since taken the issue of back up to a new level.  I no longer simply send work to USB sticks and online storage sites, I also copy the main file to other folders on the computer.  I’ve begun using Recordable (but not Rewritable) CDs too, though never when I’ve been on the computer for long in case it suddenly “blacks out” again.  If a “black out” occurs while burning files to a CD, the CD becomes permanently ruined.  

Obviously, I will need to get the computer seen to, probably on Thursday. I would imagine that excess dust has gathered, causing the fans to work less effectively and resulting in overheating. In the meantime, I’m shutting down every hour or two to allow the machine to cool.

Frustrating.

Further tips on backing up.

2 thoughts on “Novel Writing: A Further Note On Backing Up

  1. It’s heartbreaking to hear this. It reminds of a story about Thomas Carlyle whose first draft of “The french revolution” was burned by John Stuart Mill’s maid. Even in far less technological times, these things had happened.
    But I am encouraged because of all the times in past entries you’ve demonstrated the importance of backing up and having copies/files elsewhere. Whereas this doesn’t diminish the pain/suffering/frustration/anger there is the knowledge that you will pick up and move on.
    Good luck.

  2. Thanks very much, tikiman. The computer seems a lot more stable now. Haven’t a clue what’s going on, but I don’t think the fans are to blame.

    At the moment, I’m trying to find a piece of writing I did four years ago and keep wishing I’d kept up a better back up system then.

Leave a Reply

