I finally decided to stand back from the first novel and get it to the editor.   For the past week, I’ve been reading through the story and making minor adjustments.  I’m more or less satisfied with a lot of it, so I’ll have to see what happens next.

During the six days of polishing the work, the characters came alive in a special way and I have a feeling I will miss them.  I always feel sad when I get to the epilogue – in many ways, those final moments remind me of Dorothy’s farewell to Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion just before her departure from the land of Oz in the film The Wizard of Oz.

6 thoughts on “Completed Novel Rewrite

  1. First of all, congratulations. The comment about the characters coming alive is a feeling I can share and I Know you felt like the piece became more rounded and you must have had a feeling of closure.

    Now, since I live in Kansas, I can also relate to the Wizard reference. On some days, I feel like the wizard himself. on other days, I’m just pesky Toto.

  2. Great, Lawrence! Sounds like your happy with the way the writing turned out. Can relate to the Wizard of Oz comment. Well said

  3. Tikiman, thanks. I certainly found the characters more interesting this time.

    Toto is a remarkable a dog. I know a dog that looks just like Toto that might be entering a special “Toto” competition here in the UK.

  4. You have done much polishing on this and I hope that there will be a great shine that will light up your readers.

    Best wishes from the land of milk and honey.

Leave a Reply

