You have five themes in your novel…how best to present them?  Gradually, with a written record of when each story idea occurs.

I’m discovering that holding back on story questions and allowing them to unfold over the course of the story adds intrigue and guarantees fresh story material at those troublesome moments when writer’s block may occur.  In the past, I tended to present the various story questions early in the novel, the result being that I usually ran out of ideas to explore once I’d reached the second half of the story. 

I also think that adopting a zero tolerance approach to scenes/characters that don’t work will save a lot of time and prevent frustration.  In the current rewrite of my novel, I’m working in a separate computer file to allow the story to tell itself.

2 thoughts on “Novel Writing & Theme: A Gradual Unfolding

  1. I think the key is always making sure there’s an update version of a manuscript first that is also backed up in case of difficulties later on. Then, try working in a separate file and developing the key story questions. Since the ink in my computer ran out, I’ve been relying increasingly on the Storybook software for planning and rewriting. A laborious process, but I think it will be worth it.

    Thanks for commenting. All the best with your writing.

Leave a Reply

