I’m due to meet the editor in person next Thursday to talk about the editing report.

In the meantime, I’m revising the manuscript away from the main computer file in order to let the story tell itself.

In particular, I’m asking myself crucial questions about each section:

  • Is the section absolutely relevant to the story?
  • Does material in one viewpoint contradict material in another?
  • How can important background information be presented without the need for constant back story?
2 thoughts on “The Novel: A Step Closer

  1. “How can important background information be presented without the need for constant back story?”

    That questions has been bothering me lately as one of WIPs feels the need to constatly jump into lengthy back story and I know that it has to go.
    Thanks for sharing these questions.

  2. Hi Cassandra,

    Seems like a common problem. Almost all the writers I’ve spoken to say that knowing when to use back story can be difficult.

    However, removing relevant back story altogether can rob the story of something and cause it to become almost lopsided (if such a thing is possible), so a compromise is probably needed. For instance, I’m only including three back story sections that I feel are crucial to the overall story. This means cutting about seven other back stories. I think its a question of balance more than anything else.

    All the best with your revision,

    Lawrenceez

Leave a Reply

