I’ve now reached 50,000 words of the draft I’m currently working on, a psychological thriller told from two viewpoints regarding two characters struggling to cope with the past.  I ran into trouble when I tried  to write out a major character from the story.  

I’ve since reinstated the character and revised the plot on previous lines, developing that particular character. The problem with this particular character has helped me realise that structural difficulties in storytelling are similar to difficulties in real life – the problems are there  to stay.  

Fiction is all about conflict and situations worsening.   Getting rid of material to simplify matters doesn’t always work.  

Fortunately, I’ve managed to escape writer’s block this time round, apart from once.

 

Further Writing Tips

2 thoughts on “50,000 Words

Leave a Reply

