I’ve reached the 67,000 word point in my current psychological thriller and am trying to put into the practice the elements of creative writing techniques I’ve been posting about – namely, what to do when, or if, writer’s block occurs. In this particular story, I’ve rotated viewpoints so that each chapter is told from a distinct perspective. I feel the method of narration adds to the atmosphere and takes away the “samey” tone so apparent in previous drafts.

So what next? Now that I’ve reached the final stage of the story, I’m considering looking at two or three deleted scenes set originally at about fourteen thousand words. Sometimes, in fiction, a scene that doesn’t work in one place can be axed, then brought back at a later date and placed somewhere else in the story. That’s why backup copies are so important. Keeping a list of story questions really helps too, as these can bring meaning to scenes that previously appeared to lack purpose.  I’m quite confident about completing this novel draft soon.

2 thoughts on “New Story Questions

  1. Great Idea. I have just finished a sci-fi novel about the apocalypse but with a creative sci-fi slant to it. Once I finished it (about a month ago) I felt that something was missing.

    Now I am going back through many of the deleted scenes, there were many great scenes I cut, but I think now I can add a few back, with different characters, change a few things and it could add some great twists and depth.

    Great Idea.

    Thanks for you comments on my blog,
    I would like to add you to my blogroll.

    Thanks,
    Sam

  2. Thanks for commenting. Yes, please add me to your blogroll. I still have no idea how to add other blogs to my blogroll.

    I don’t read much sci-fi, but the apocalypse novel sounds exciting (plus scary).

    This issue of bringing back sections of writing previously cut is interesting and crucial, and one I’m dealing with at the moment…I’ve seen some instances of rewriting where the fundamental character of the writing was lost in the reworking. I’ve had to bring at least two scenes back. Structural editing is crucial, but it’s impossible to get any piece of writing perfect and attempting to perfect a section occasionally makes it worse.

    All the best with your writing and the sci-fi novel,

    Regards,

    Lawrenceez

Leave a Reply

