I’m about a week in the rewrite of a psychological thriller (see post on Characters and Quest) and am writing each chapter from a particular viewpoint. In the previous edition, some of the chapters had more than one viewpoint (one even had three), but I’ve decided to limit the shifts in VP. I think the reworking is going okay – at least, there seems to be a greater build up of atmosphere now and the story feels less rushed – but many of the chapters are a lot shorter than before.

This is a problem with ruthless editing – you solve one problem but lose something of the nature of the story in the process. Still, the ruthless editing is worth it, so long as you keep backups of previous manuscripts.

(Note on backing up – I send the latest update of my work to each of my email accounts every few days.)

6 thoughts on “Different Camera Lenses: Viewpoint

  1. Hi there – hope your rewrite is progressing well. You visited my site (stromplesspot.wordpress) the other day and I was wondering what you thought of JacketFlap. I’m a newbie to the whole ordeal, and am just learning as I go. What do you think of it, and are there similar sites that I just haven’t stumbled across yet? I know of Twitter & LinkdIn, but…

    I was just notified that my physical proof has been shipped! Best of luck with your novel, and thanks for the good advice about mailing to self as backups. Quick & easy!

    Stacey Geist

  2. Hi Stacey,

    Thanks for your reply. I looked up JacketFlap, the other day and if remember correctly, the site deals primarily with children’s fiction. Not my field. I may try Twitter at some point and I’m certainly interested in online publishing/POD.

    Once again, congratulations on your book.

    Regards,

    Lawrence

  3. I bet there’s something out there for your genre?? And POD opens doors that might not have been, for sure. I’m publishing through Mill City Press and, because I was approved for their children’s book imprint, will be available for purchase on Books in Print. This is huge – instead of being out of the loop and doing everything on my own, I’m IN the loop & available for purchase by any buyer. This was important to me. I’m not sure if one of their other imprints would work for you, or if other self-publishing companies do something similar, but it might be worth checking out.

    🙂
    Stacey

  4. Thanks for your advice, Stacey. Yes, I think POD sounds exciting and presents opportunities that weren’t available a few years ago. A literary agent is about to take a look at my first novel, so I’m not sure what will happen next but I would like to go down the conventional publishing route first. If this doesn’t work out, it’s always good to know that there’s a lot of exciting self-publishing and Print on Demand options available. I think the key is to get someone to look through the manuscript first.

    All the best with your work.

    Regards,

    Lawrenceez

  5. I’ll be waiting to hear about what the agent says. Will you post about going that route? I’d like to hear about the process & everything involved.

    Best of luck! My mother-in-law is an avid reader and reads thrillers constantly. She’ll look for it for sure when it’s available.

    Take care,
    Stacey

  6. Yes, I expect I’ll post on the progress of the novel at some point. It’s been a stressful year and a half in regards to writing/publishing, but I think it may work out with this particular agent.

    Thanks again and all the best with yours,

    Lawrencez

Leave a Reply

