I had a mammouth session at the local novelist group on Wednesday and the question of plot structure came up in relation to a crime incident that occured twenty-six years ago when the male character was ten. In the draft, the central character accepts the official version of events, but his sister is suspicious and launches her own investigation that never really gets off the ground. The problem with this is it made the sister appear unreasonable and the brother slightly stupid. So, I’ve reversed the roles and it is now the brother who starts digging around in the past, bringing danger into his life. I’ve also revised the back story plot, making it more menacing and disturbing. An added bonus – the brother has no recollection of the original crime or how he escaped.

5 thoughts on “Characters and Quest

  1. what’s the novelist group like? it sounds like a good clearing house. I wonder if I’m too stubborn. I usually have to start intensely hating something I’ve written before I’ll change it. good thing, I suppose, that once I come to the point, the editing and rewriting seems easier.

  2. Hi Christopher, thanks for stopping by.

    The novelist group is excellent for gaining feedback, though people sometimes get offended afterwards. Not me. I always go away and start reworking.

    All the best with your writing.

  3. Hi lawrenceez, thanks for your comments on my blog.

    I live in a small(ish) city and have struggled to find a novelist group that is looking for members.

    What tactics did you use to find your group?

    I’d prefer a real-world group, but in the absence of that I’d try online groupd — do you know of any online review groups that are effective?

  4. Hi wildlings,

    Thanks for your comment.

    Check in the libraries to see if anyone’s running a novelist group. Sometimes, it means travelling to larger cities, which can be a real nuisance. Alternatively, you could get in touch with online groups like youwriteon.co.uk (think the address is right but google it in just to be sure). I don’t think there are specific online novelists groups, unless you team up with people you know and decide to offer feedback, but groups like youwriteon give you a chance to meet other writers and to receive some critique on your work.

    All the best with your writing,

    Regards,

    Lawrence

  5. I just arrived in this town, and haven’t done a thorough check of the library yet. That’s something I will get on to, thanks for the reminder.

    Also the link, I’m checking it out as we speak. Looks great 🙂

    May the muses smile on you (or sneer, if that’s what gets you writing!)

    Cam

Leave a Reply

